About Us

Chamber Council

The Chamber is governed by a Council of twelve Councillors elected by the Full and Associate Members and headed by a President, a Senior Vice President, and a Vice President. The administrative arm of the organisation is run by the Secretariat, which is headed by an Executive Director.

The Council is responsible for the overall management and direction of the Chamber and meetings are convened on a monthly basis. The Council is chaired by the President.

The President, Senior Vice President and Vice President serve a term of one year. Other Councillors serve a term of two years.

The Chamber convened its Annual General Meeting on 28th April 2016.  The members of the Chamber Council for 2016 include:

Executive Councillors

Mr Gerea Aopi, CBE – President

Mr Gerea Aopi was elected President of the Chamber in 2013 and presently serves in this position. Mr Aopi has substantial public service and private sector experience.

Mr Gerea Aopi is the Executive General Manager External and Government Affairs and Sustainability for Oil Search Ltd.


Mr Peter Aitsi – Senior Vice President

Country Manager PNG for Newcrest Ltd. 




Mr Richard Kassman, OBE – Vice President

Corporate Affairs Director for Total (E&P) PNG.


Mr Andrew Barry

Mr Andrew Barry, Managing Director, ExxonMobil PNG Ltd.




 Mr Anthony Smare

Mr Anthony Smare, General Manager Corporate and Legal, Barrick PNG  Ltd.




Mr Isikeli Taureka 

Mr Isikeli Taureka, Executive Vice President, InterOil Corporation Ltd. 




Mr John Gooding

Mr John Gooding, Managing Director, Highlands Pacific Ltd.





Mr Mel Togolo

Mr Mel Togolo, Country Manager PNG, Nautilus Minerals (PNG) Ltd.




Mr Mark McMonagle

Mr Mark McMonagle, Director and Manager Construction, Sun Engineering Ltd.




Mr Andrew Harris

Office Managing Partner, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.





Mr Wapu Sonk

Managing Director, Kumul Petroleum Holdings





Mr Johannes van Heerden

Chief Executive Officer, Harmony Gold South East Asia

Comments are closed.