Chamber Council

The Chamber is governed by a Council of twelve Councillors elected by the Full and Associate Members and headed by a President, a Senior Vice President, and a Vice President. The administrative arm of the organisation is run by the Secretariat, which is headed by an Executive Director.

The Council is responsible for the overall management and direction of the Chamber and meetings are convened on a monthly basis. The Council is chaired by the President.

The President, Senior Vice President and Vice President serve a term of one year. Other Councillors serve a term of two years.

The Chamber convened its Annual General Meeting on 26th April 2018.  The members of the Chamber Council for 2018 include:

Executive Councillors

Gerea Aopi, CBE – President

Gerea was elected President of the Chamber in 2013 and presently serves in this position. He has substantial public service and private sector experience.

Gerea is currently the Executive General Manager Stakeholder Engagement, Oil Search Ltd.


Anthony Smare – Senior Vice President

Anthony is currently the General Manager Corporate and Legal, Barrick Niugini Ltd.



Richard Kassman, OBE – Vice President

Richard is currently the Director Corporate Affairs, Total (E&P) PNG.


John Chambers

John is currently the General Manager PNG, Santos.




Chamber Councillor Mel TogoloSir Melchior Togolo

Mel is currently the Country Manager PNG, Nautilus Minerals (PNG) Ltd.




Johannes van Heerden

Johannes is currently the Chief Executive Officer, Harmony Gold South East Asia.




Ron Gawi

Ron is currently General Manager, Highlands Pacific Ltd.





 Mark McMonagle

Mark is currently the Director and Manager Construction, Sun Engineering Ltd.




Tim Richards

Tim Richards currently the General Manager for the Simberi Gold Mine in the New Ireland Province.





Andrew Barry

Andrew is currently the Managing Director, ExxonMobil PNG Ltd.




Andrew Harris

Andrew is currently the Head of Tax and Business Services, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.




Craig Jones

Craig is currently Newcrest Mining’s Executive General Manager – Wafi-Golpu


Comments are closed.